Stabat Mater

Gioachino Rossini

The Stabat genre traversed the centuries. This version by Rossini lacks neither emotional scope nor echoes of his operatic writing.

Maria Agresta, Daniella Barcellona
Maria Agresta -Daniella Barcellona - Droits réservés
Gustavo Gimeno
Gustavo Gimeno © Marco Borggreve


Maria Agresta soprano
Daniela Barcellona mezzo-soprano
René Barbera tenor
Vitalij Kowaljow bass

First part 
Schubert Symphony No. 8 D. 759 « Unfinished »

Gustavo Gimeno direction
Orchestre Philharmonique du Luxembourg
Wiener Singverein

This flamboyant late work by a musician who had long since abandoned opera, took over ten years to reach its definitive form and was not performed until 1842 (his last opera, William Tell, dates from 1829). Rossini put his epicurean lifestyle behind him in the 1830s and abandoned music. However, what is immediately striking here is that he has lost none of his genius or technique. This work pleasingly combines all of the musician’s theatrical and operatic traits with a tribute to the polyphonic writing of the Renaissance (particularly in the a capella passages for four soloists and chorus). Profane music is introduced into a religious-themed piece in the hands of Rossini, who has retained his relish for the pleasures of his craft.

Production Théâtre des Champs-Elysées