London Philharmonic Orchestra

Vladimir Jurowski | direction
Julia Fischer | violon 

Elgar's violin spirit by Julia Fischer and the might of the London Philharmonic Orchestra.

Julia Fischer
Julia Fischer © Uwe Arens
Vladimir Jurowski
Vladimir Jurowski © Vera Zhuravleva


Elgar Concerto for violin and orchestra
Swan Lake, excerpts 

To read

A work of great poetry and tenderness, Elgar's violin concerto is one of the English composer's most beautiful pieces and one of the longest concertante works for violin in the history of music (nearly 48 minutes). Along with Alban Berg's To the Memory of an Angel, it is also one of the most autobiographical pieces of the 20th century. Elgar inscribed the Spanish words "Aqui está encerrada el alma de....." (Here is enclosed the soul of..... with five full stops). Many scholars have debated the identity of the recipient of this mysterious dedication, but the musician's biographer, Michael Kennedy, has simply concluded that “whoever's soul the concerto contains, it ultimately contains the soul of the violin”. The elegance of Julia Fischer's violin should work wonders here. The programme is rounded off with one of Tchaikovsky's most famous ballet scores, but also one of the composer's most ambitious for this genre.

PRODUCTION Théâtre des Champs-Elysées

You may also like

Vivaldi, Sedlar, Rimsky-Korsakov

The violinist and his Double Sens ensemble take a musical journey to the four corners of Europe.

Vivaldi, Chin, Mozart

The great Anne-Sophie Mutter with a programme that mirrors her extraordinary career.

Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla, Patricia Kopatchinskaja

Stravinsky's only violin concerto and two iconic works by Tchaikovsky.