Orchestre de la Garde républicaine

François Boulanger | direction
Adam Laloum | piano 

From Brahms to Dvořák, a journey of epic proportions by the Orchestre de la Garde républicaine and Adam Laloum.

Adam Laloum
Adam Laloum © Harald Hoffmann, Sony Music
Orchestre Garde Républicaine
Orchestre Garde Républicaine © D. Mendiboure


Brahms Piano Concerto No. 2 Op. 83
Dvorák Symphony No. 9 Op. 95 « From the New World »

To read

First performed in 1881 after four years of endeavour, Brahms's Piano Concerto No. 2 is one of the pinnacles of piano writing. The four-part structure indicates the ambition of the piece: nothing less than a symphony with piano. Despite its size, the work is structured in a single line from the first to the last note, which should enchant the conductor François Boulanger and the immense pianist Adam Laloum. To continue the evening, the Orchestre de la Garde républicaine will perform one of the most popular works in the orchestral repertoire, the New World Symphony from Dvořák. A euphoric ode to the great American spaces, the piece was composed while the Czech composer was director of the New York Conservatory. One finds oneself swept from a black-spirited to Native American legend and then to the irresistible whirlwind of the final movement.

You may also like

Schumann, Brahms, Chausson

Adam Laloum, Deborah Nemtanu and Quatuor Strada deliver a dazzling kaleidoscope of romantic moods.

Beethoven, Debussy, Rachmaninov

Nikolai Lugansky's full palette from Beethovenian classicism to Debussy melody.

Dvořák, Janáček, Brahms, Szymanowski

The third concert of this violin weekend lets us meet the German Arabella Steinbacher.