Orchestre du Conservatoire de Paris and the American Art Schools of Fontainebleau

Bruno Mantovani | direction
Philippe Bianconi | piano 

An evening to celebrate the musical ties between France and the United States.

Bruno Mantovani
Bruno Mantovani © Heloisa Borts
Philippe Bianconi
Philippe Bianconi © William Beaucardet


France-America Concert
Centenary of the American Art Schools of Fontainebleau
D’un matin de printemps
Ravel Concerto for piano in G major 
Ma Mère l’Oye, suite for orchestra 
Varèse Amériques (1927 version) 

To read

Established since 1921 at the Château de Fontainebleau during the summer, the Fontainebleau Schools (EAAF) are a French foundation tasked with making French culture better known to foreign students in the fields of music and architecture. To celebrate this centenary, the association naturally approached the Conservatoire National Supérieur de Paris since the two institutions have maintained strong links for many years. The desire to bring together students and professors for this evening, beyond the symbolism, thus makes it possible to assemble the large number of musicians required for Edgar Varèse's piece Amériques, composed in 1921 but whose revised version of 1927 will be performed this evening. The programme also includes works by two emblematic composers, Maurice Ravel, briefly director of the EAAF, and Lili Boulanger, whose sister, Nadia, directed the EAAF for 30 years. Philippe Bianconi, soloist of Ravel's G concerto, was also director of the EAAF and conductor Bruno Mantovani is a member of its Artistic Committee.

COPRODUCTION Ecoles d’art américaines de Fontainebleau / Conservatoire national supérieur de musique et de danse de Paris

You may also like

Lars Vogt, Christian Tetzlaff

Lars Vogt and Christian Tetzlaff take us on a journey with Mendelssohn, Sibelius, Brahms and Dvořák.

Cristian Măcelaru, Christina Landshamer, Anna Stéphany, Eric Ruf

The Orchestre National de France, Cristian Măcelaru and Eric Ruf play Mendelssohn tonight.

Mendelssohn, Schumann

Mendelssohn chamber musician and the art of Schumann's declaration of love by the Trio Wanderer.