Orchestre de chambre de Paris

Thomas Dausgaard | direction
Haochen Zhang | piano 

The Three Ages of Strauss explored by conductor Thomas Dausgaard and pianist Haochen Zhang.

Thomas Dausgaard
Thomas Dausgaard - DR
Haochen Zhang
Haochen Zhang


Strauss Metamorphosen, Burleske, The Bourgeois gentilhomme 

To read

Triumphant debut at the New York Philharmonic, invitations to perform all over the world, and already a great success with the Seattle Symphony of which he has just become Music Director... Everything is going well for Danish conductor Thomas Dausgaard. Here he addresses three ages of Richard Strauss, from the Bourgeois Gentleman of 1917 – first envisaged as part of Ariadne auf Naxos – to the glowing Metamorphosen that Strauss, in his eighties, wrote in the ruins of defeated Germany in 1945. As for the Burleske in D minor, it would have discouraged its dedicatee Hans von Bülow: “There's a different hand position in every bar!” he is reported to have said... before giving up the interpretation. A challenge that the young Chinese piano prodigy Haochen Zhang, a regular guest on the greatest stages of Asia, Europe and the United States, would have to rise to with flying colours.

PRODUCTION Orchestre de chambre de Paris

You may also like

Richard Strauss

A sublime "scenic symphonic poem", Salome illustrates the luxuriance of its subject matter, embellished here by Krzysztof Warlikowski's vision and a high-flying cast.