Orchestre de chambre de Paris

Lars Vogt  direction and piano

Lars Vogt plunges into the heart of the Romantic agony with Mendelssohn and Brahms

Lars Vogt
Lars Vogt © Giorgia Bertazzi


Mozart Symphony No. 25 K. 183
Mendelssohn Piano Concerto No. 1 Op. 25
Brahms Symphony No. 4 Op. 98

Approximate running time
1st part: 50mn - Intermission: 20mn - 2nd part: 40mn

This concert offers a programme rich in contrasts, played and conducted by Lars Vogt – an exceptional pianist and the musical director of the Sage Gateshead. The evening begins with the feverish Little G minor Symphony by Mozart, who penned it when he was only eighteen, by which time he had already written twenty-five symphonies. The quietly tragic atmosphere of this symphony will give way to the Romantic agonies of Mendelssohn and Brahms – two musicians who were also famous performers and orchestral conductors in their day. This programme gives Lars Vogt ample opportunity to showcase his commitment and irrepressible energy, which the music critic of The Guardian described in typically British style: « Vogt is such a communicative, hyperactive performer that when his hands were busy at the keyboard he appeared to continue conducting with his knees.»

Production Orchestre de chambre de Paris


Lars Vogt Orchestre de chambre de Paris