Orchestre de chambre de Paris

Douglas Boyd  direction
Fazıl Say  piano 

All the diversity of talent and curiosity of extraordinary performer Fazıl Say

Douglas Boyd, Fazil Say
Douglas Boyd © Jean-Baptiste Millot / Fazil Say © Marco Borggreve


Ravel Piano Concerto in G major 
Say Symphonic Dances
Haydn Symphony No. 87

Approximate running time
1st part: 45mn - Intermission: 20mn - 2nd part: 30mn

Fazıl Say is a pianist, composer, intrepid performer and a committed global citizen, who received the International Beethoven Prize for Human Rights, Peace, Freedom, Anti-poverty and Inclusion in 2007. For this concert in partnership with Douglas Boyd, he displays his many talents and diverse sources of inspiration. With dry wit, Ravel wrote, « It has been said of certain great classical musicians that their concertos are designed less for the piano, than against it. For my part, I consider this opinion to be entirely well-founded.» Conceived as a diversion, his Concerto in G draws on the blues, foxtrot, and jazz – one of Fazıl Say’s great passions. His Symphonic Dances, deeply rooted in the traditions of his native Turkey, will round off this journey through the free currents of music.

Production Orchestre de chambre de Paris