Grigory Sokolov  piano 

The traditional one-off Parisian recital by stellar pianist Grigory Sokolov

Grigory Sokolov
Grigory Sokolov © Mary Slepkova, DG


Mozart Prelude (Fantaisie) and Fugue K. 394 (383a)
Sonata No. 11 Op. 6 No. 2 K. 331 (300i), Rondo K. 511
Klavierstücke op. 118 et op. 119

Approximate running time
1st part: 40mn - Intermission: 20mn - 2nd part: 40mn

The days are long gone when concerts by this pianist, who was virtually unknown even to the cognoscenti, only attracted audiences of a hundred or so people. The enthusiasm which he generates has now reached unprecedented heights. Like Sviatoslav Richter in the past – the only pianist to whom he can be compared – he combines a supernatural grasp of the keyboard with a very highly developed sense of musicality. His performances are always surprising and quite unique, and his personality exerts a great fascination. A concert by Grigory Sokolov is similar to a ritual – the programme is devised in accordance with strict rules, which are often only announced at the eleventh hour. This keyboard wizard can therefore unveil his visionary powers for an audience which is only too well aware that it is experiencing something in many respects quite unique.

Jeanine Roze Production