Nikolaï Lugansky  piano

Russian pianist Nikolaï Lugansky with Beethoven’s Appassionata in counterpoint to the refinement of César Franck.

Nikolaï Lugansky
Nikolaï Lugansky © Marco Borggreve


Beethoven Sonata No. 28 Op. 101
Sonata No. 23 Op. 57 « Appassionata »
Franck Prélude, aria et finale Prélude, choral et fugue

He is unrivalled in the works of Rachmaninov, Prokofiev and Tchaikovsky, but it would be unfair to pigeonhole him in this repertoire in which he excels as he can bring his sensitivity to bear on the work of many other composers. Beethoven and César Franck have been part of his performance repertoire for some time. The triptych of the Prelude, Choral et Fugue by César Franck – a fine tribute to the French repertoire which the Russian pianist regularly includes in his programmes – is a complex score whose sinuous harmonies and elegant counterpoint introduce an element of the unexpected. The performer must pay close attention to every detail and achieve the perfect balance of sound required by the three distinct parts, while retaining their overall coherence. An homage to Bach which owes much to Liszt.

Jeanine Roze Production