Sergei Dogadin | violin
Evgeny Sinaiski | piano 

Sergey Dogadin plunges us into the depths of the Russian soul with Tchaikovsky, Prokofiev and Stravinsky.

Sergei Dogadin
Sergei Dogadin © Anastasia Steiner
Evgeny Sinaiski
Evgeny Sinaiski - DR


Prokofiev Sonata for violin and piano No. 1 Op. 80
Tchaikovsky Souvenir d’un lieu cher, for violin and piano Op. 42 « Méditation »
Valse-Scherzo for violin and piano Op. 34
Stravinsky Divertimento, suite excerpt from Baiser de la Fée (transcription for violin and piano by S. Dushkin) 

To read

Set course east! It is a 100% Russian programme – but so varied – that Sergei Dogadin, accompanied by Evgeny Sinaiski, has concocted for us. Prokofiev's Sonata No. 1 provides a sombre introduction, marked by the fear and despair caused by the Stalinist "Great Purge". Tchaikovsky's romanticism will then give the performers the opportunity to let their Slavic soul sing (and waltz). Tchaikovsky, whom Ida Rubinstein wanted to inspire the ballet commissioned from Stravinsky on a theme that was left free. Adapted from Andersen, The Fairy's Kiss thus borrows from the Swan Lake author's early works. The resulting Divertimento in 1934 also became a choice piece for violinists thanks to friend Samuel Dushkin, who got his hands on the transcription.

COREALISATION Jeanine Roze Production / Théâtre des Champs-Elysées