Continue without accepting

We respect your privacy

With your consent, we use cookies or similar technologies to store and access personal information such as your visit to this website. You can withdraw your consent or object to processin based on legitimate interest at any time by cliking on "Find out more" or in your privacy policy on this website.

Welcome to the Théâtre des Champs-Elysées website

The Théâtre des Champs-Elysées and its partners set cookies and use non-sensitive information from your device to improve our products and display personalized advertising and content. You can accept or refuse these different operations. To find out more about cookies, the data we use, the processing operations we carry out and the partners with whom we work, you can consult our cookies dedicated page.


    Orchestre de chambre de Paris

    Maxim Emelyanychev | direction
    Aylen Pritchin | violin

    Make way for the younger generation with Maxim Emelyanychev at the rostrum and young Russian violin prodigy Aylen Pritchin.

    Maxim Emelyanychev
    Maxim Emelyanychev © Andrej Grilc
    Aylen Pritchin
    Aylen Pritchin © Andrej Grilc

    Mendelssohn La Belle Mélusine, Overture Op. 32
    Saint-Saëns  Concerto for violin No. 3 Op. 61
    Mendelssohn  Symphony No. 5 op. 107 « Reformation »

    Mendelssohn and Saint-Saëns were very similar in some respects. As conductors and virtuoso pianists, they epitomised the musical aesthetic of their respective countries while still retaining a keen interest in each other’s homelands. In his Symphony No. 5, composed in 1830 for the tricentenary of the Augsburg Confession, Mendelssohn cites Luther’s famous canticle Ein’ feste Burg ist unser Gott and reaffirms his Protestant faith. Three years later, by contrast, a legend from the Poitou region inspired the magical atmosphere of his symphonic overture La Belle Mélusine. Concerto for Violin No. 3 by Saint-Saëns (1880), with its quintessentially French clarity and Spanish accents (referencing the violinist Pablo Saraste who first performed it), was actually premiered in Mendelssohn’s home town of Hamburg.

    Production Orchestre de chambre de Paris
    France Musique diffuse ce concert le 23 octobre à 20h (présentation Clément Rochefort).