Continue without accepting

We respect your privacy

With your consent, we use cookies or similar technologies to store and access personal information such as your visit to this website. You can withdraw your consent or object to processin based on legitimate interest at any time by cliking on "Find out more" or in your privacy policy on this website.

Welcome to the Théâtre des Champs-Elysées website

The Théâtre des Champs-Elysées and its partners set cookies and use non-sensitive information from your device to improve our products and display personalized advertising and content. You can accept or refuse these different operations. To find out more about cookies, the data we use, the processing operations we carry out and the partners with whom we work, you can consult our cookies dedicated page.


    Orchestre de chambre de Paris

    Antje Weithaas | violin and direction

    Violinist and conductor Antje Weithaas takes us from tragedy to joy with Haydn, Hartmann, and Brahms.

    Antje Weithaas
    Antje Weithaas © Kaupo Kikkas

    Haydn  Symphony No. 44 Trauer
    Hartmann  Funeral Concerto for Violin and Orchestra
    Brahms  Serenade Op. 11

    Music can make us laugh or cry without the need for words. Haydn was aware of this and wanted the Adagio from his Symphony No. 44 to be played at his funeral. This wish was not fulfilled, but the movement was performed several months later at a memorial service. Hartmann initially viewed his Concerto funèbre for violin and string orchestra, given here in tribute to Lars Vogt, as a requiem. It was a response to the annexation of Czechoslovakia by the Third Reich, and he finished it as the German army invaded Poland. He revised it in 1959, thus demonstrating his attachment to this “sombre and despairing” work. By Contrast, Brahm’s mood was joyful when he composed his first Serenade (1858), although the slow movement is clouded by moments of nostalgia. 

    Production Orchestre de chambre de Paris