Continue without accepting

We respect your privacy

With your consent, we use cookies or similar technologies to store and access personal information such as your visit to this website. You can withdraw your consent or object to processin based on legitimate interest at any time by cliking on "Find out more" or in your privacy policy on this website.

Welcome to the Théâtre des Champs-Elysées website

The Théâtre des Champs-Elysées and its partners set cookies and use non-sensitive information from your device to improve our products and display personalized advertising and content. You can accept or refuse these different operations. To find out more about cookies, the data we use, the processing operations we carry out and the partners with whom we work, you can consult our cookies dedicated page.


    Orchestre National de France

    Andris Poga | direction
    David Fray | piano 

    The Orchestre National de France, Andris Poga and David Fray tackle Mozart, and Bruckner’s intense Symphony No. 7.

    Photo de David Fray © Jean-Baptiste Millot
    David Fray © Jean-Baptiste Millot
    Photo d'Andris Poga © Janis Deinats
    Andris Poga © Janis Deinats

    Mozart  Concerto for piano No. 21 K. 467
    Bruckner  Symphony No. 7 

    The concert opens with the hugely famous Piano Concerto No.21 by Mozart, which gives David Fray the opportunity to reconnect with the musicians of the Orchestre National de France. This is a classical piece in three movements, but has its own style and inventive harmonies. This makes it one of the most difficult works for the performer as distinctive virtuoso passages for the soloist dominate the entire piece. Its majestic, quasi-Olympian character and its melodies have weathered the centuries, making it one of the best-known works in the Mozart concert repertoire. This will be followed by Bruckner’s iconic Symphony No. 7. He was a skilled organist, painstaking teacher and paradoxical character, riddled with social and personal frustrations. However, he was driven by a deep ambition to become the new Beethoven. After struggling for many years with low self-esteem, Bruckner experienced a major aesthetic shock when he discovered Wagner at the age of forty. Wagner’s influence is particularly clear in Symphony No. 7. He was in the process of writing the most famous movement, the captivating Adagio, when Wagner died in Venice on 13 February 1883. This was deeply traumatic for the musician, who worshipped him. It further fuelled the extraordinary power of his monumental Symphony No.7.

    Coproduction Radio France | Théâtre des Champs-Elysées
    France Musique enregistre ce concert.