Continue without accepting

We respect your privacy

With your consent, we use cookies or similar technologies to store and access personal information such as your visit to this website. You can withdraw your consent or object to processin based on legitimate interest at any time by cliking on "Find out more" or in your privacy policy on this website.

Welcome to the Théâtre des Champs-Elysées website

The Théâtre des Champs-Elysées and its partners set cookies and use non-sensitive information from your device to improve our products and display personalized advertising and content. You can accept or refuse these different operations. To find out more about cookies, the data we use, the processing operations we carry out and the partners with whom we work, you can consult our cookies dedicated page.


    Elisabeth Leonskaja  piano
    Liza Ferschtman  violin
    Jakob Koranyi  cello 

    Elisabeth Leonskaja is in good company on the first stage of her journey with Schubert with the two trios for piano and strings.

    Elisabeth Leonskaja
    Elisabeth Leonskaja © Julia Wesely
    Liza Ferschtman
    Liza Ferschtman © Marco Borggreve
    Jakob Koranyi
    Jakob Koranyi © Anna Lena Ahlstrom

    Schubert Cycle I
    Trio for piano and strings No. 1 D. 898
    Trio for piano and strings No. 2 D. 929

    Approximate running time
    1st part: 40mn - Intermission: 20mn - 2nd part: 50mn

    Schubert composed his two major trios for the traditional piano-violin-cello formation late in his career; these two outstanding pieces reflect the maturity of the musician’s art and have justly earned him a place in the trio Hall of Fame not far behind Beethoven, Schumann and Brahms. Composed in close succession in the summer and autumn of 1827 respectively, they both adopt the traditional four-movement form, but the second trio is characterised from the very outset by its lyrical power and more highly developed sense of formal freedom.

    Coproduction Piano**** / Théâtre des Champs-Elysées