Continue without accepting

We respect your privacy

With your consent, we use cookies or similar technologies to store and access personal information such as your visit to this website. You can withdraw your consent or object to processin based on legitimate interest at any time by cliking on "Find out more" or in your privacy policy on this website.

Welcome to the Théâtre des Champs-Elysées website

The Théâtre des Champs-Elysées and its partners set cookies and use non-sensitive information from your device to improve our products and display personalized advertising and content. You can accept or refuse these different operations. To find out more about cookies, the data we use, the processing operations we carry out and the partners with whom we work, you can consult our cookies dedicated page.


    Victor Julien-Laferrière  cello 
    Justin Taylor  piano
    Jonas Vitaud  piano 

    The cello in all its guises in five instalments: part two with Victor Julien-Laferrière, one of the most brilliant young cellists of the French school.

    V-J. Laferrière
    Victor-Julien Laferrière © Jean-Baptiste Millot
    Justin Taylor / Jonas Vitaud
    Justin Taylor © Jean-Baptiste Millot / Jonas Vitaud © Helène Bozzi

    Beethoven Twelve variations for piano and cello 
    Mendelssohn Sonata for cello and piano No. 2 Op. 58
    Britten Sonata for cello and piano Op. 65
    Adès Lieux retrouvés, for cello and piano

    Approximate running time: 1h15

    A weekend of total immersion in the rich, warm sound of the cello in all its guises from Bach to the present day. The second concert features Victor Julien-Laferrière, one of the finest young cellists of the French school with a programme in four sections. Like Truls Mørk the previous day, he opens his journey with Beethoven and his lyrical twelve Variations for cello, then progresses towards German Romanticism with Mendelssohn, before leaping into autumn of 1960 when British composer Benjamin Britten was inspired by a recent meeting with Rostropovitch to compose a piece dedicated to the cellist. The combination of the Russian performer’s style and the register of his instrument which is close to the human voice, became a musical medium of choice for Britten and inspired some of his finest chamber pieces towards the end of his life. Lastly, the short contemporary gem Lieux retrouvés, composed by Thomas Adès (born in 1971), employs a highly illustrative style to convey the idea of nature.

    Production Internationales Albert Sarfati
    France Musique broadcasts this concert