Continue without accepting

We respect your privacy

With your consent, we use cookies or similar technologies to store and access personal information such as your visit to this website. You can withdraw your consent or object to processin based on legitimate interest at any time by cliking on "Find out more" or in your privacy policy on this website.

Welcome to the Théâtre des Champs-Elysées website

The Théâtre des Champs-Elysées and its partners set cookies and use non-sensitive information from your device to improve our products and display personalized advertising and content. You can accept or refuse these different operations. To find out more about cookies, the data we use, the processing operations we carry out and the partners with whom we work, you can consult our cookies dedicated page.


    Adam Laloum  piano 

    Adam Laloum brings all of his sensitivity to bear on Schubert’s last piano sonatas

    Adam Laloum
    Adam Laloum © Harald Hoffmann, Sony Music

    Schubert Sonata No. 19 D. 958
    Sonata No. 20 D. 959
    Sonata No. 21 D. 960

    Approximate running time
    1st part: 1h10 - Intermission: 20mn - 2nd part: 45mn

    Schubert was the last great musician for whom the piano sonata formed the cornerstone of the keyboard repertoire. He composed sonatas throughout his life, perhaps in the hope of equalling Beethoven’s prowess in this field. Although the works do not form such a structured and coherent whole as the sonatas by the “Master of Bonn”, the last three are a natural trio which Alfred Brendel, one of their finest performers, defined as “forces of destruction in C minor, with the light of the major key and then the resignation of B flat major.” Pianist Adam Laloum, who is acclaimed for the poetry and subtlety of his playing, is one of the most sensitive ambassadors of the thirty-something generation French pianists who have emerged in recent seasons. His idols are Brahms, Schubert and Schumann and his great talent is a worthy tribute.

    Jeanine Roze Production