Continue without accepting

We respect your privacy

With your consent, we use cookies or similar technologies to store and access personal information such as your visit to this website. You can withdraw your consent or object to processin based on legitimate interest at any time by cliking on "Find out more" or in your privacy policy on this website.

Welcome to the Théâtre des Champs-Elysées website

The Théâtre des Champs-Elysées and its partners set cookies and use non-sensitive information from your device to improve our products and display personalized advertising and content. You can accept or refuse these different operations. To find out more about cookies, the data we use, the processing operations we carry out and the partners with whom we work, you can consult our cookies dedicated page.


    Bayerisches Staatsorchester

    Vladimir Jurowski | direction
    Yefim Bronfman | piano
    Elsa Dreisig | soprano

    The Bayerisches Staatsorchester and Vladimir Jurowski visit with Schumann and Mahler.

    Vladimir Jurowski
    Vladimir Jurowski © Vera Zhuravleva
    Yefim Bronfmam
    Yefim Bronfmam © Dario Acosta
    Elsa Dreisig
    Elsa Dreisig © Simon Fowler

    Wagner  Tristan et Isolde Prelude 
    Schumann  Concerto for piano Op. 54
    Mahler  Symphony No. 4

    : The Bayerisches Staatsorchester is the resident orchestra of the Bavarian State Opera in Munich. It is also one of the oldest and finest in Europe and Vladimir Jurowski has been its music director since 2020. For this first joint visit, they have opted to debut with the Prelude to Tristan and Isolde followed by Schumann’s piano concerto with Yefim Bronfman, where the elegant phrasing is sure to be wonderful. The second half will be devoted to Mahler’s Symphony No. 4. It is one of the shortest in his catalogue as the musician abandons the choruses found in his previous three opuses and chooses a soprano as the solo voice, in this instance Franco-Danish singer Elsa Dreisig. This work permeated with bright colours refers back to childhood and innocence. It concludes with a reorchestrated Lied, Das himmlische Leben (Heavenly Life), drawn from the cycle Des Knaben Wunderhorn (The Boy’s Magic Horn), composed almost five years earlier. The text describes the joys of Heaven seen through the eyes of a child. With its grace and quasi-pastoral feel, Symphony No. 4 quickly made its mark and established its credentials as one of Mahler’s most frequently performed symphonies.

    Production Théâtre des Champs-Elysées

    Bronfman, de Disney à Carnegie Hall

    L'un des plus grands pianistes actuels, mis à l’honneur jusque dans la culture pop est en même temps un musicien discret, qui rêve de jouer ses récitals derrière un rideau pour faire passer la musique avant l’interprète.