Continue without accepting

We respect your privacy

With your consent, we use cookies or similar technologies to store and access personal information such as your visit to this website. You can withdraw your consent or object to processin based on legitimate interest at any time by cliking on "Find out more" or in your privacy policy on this website.

Welcome to the Théâtre des Champs-Elysées website

The Théâtre des Champs-Elysées and its partners set cookies and use non-sensitive information from your device to improve our products and display personalized advertising and content. You can accept or refuse these different operations. To find out more about cookies, the data we use, the processing operations we carry out and the partners with whom we work, you can consult our cookies dedicated page.


    Orchestre National de France

    Cristian Măcelaru | direction
    Evgeny Kissin | piano

    The Orchestre National de France and Cristian Măcelaru serve up Rachmaninov’s renowned Piano Concerto No. 3 with Evgeny Kissin.

    Evgeny Kissin
    Evgeny Kissin © Sasha Gusov
    Christian Macelaru
    Christian Macelaru © Christophe Abramowitz

    Rachmaninov  Concerto for piano and orchestra No. 3 Op. 30
    Prokofiev  Symphony No. 5

    The reputation of Rachmaninov’s Piano Concerto N. 3 precedes it. It is fiendishly difficult for a soloist and has become a compulsory rite of passage for performers ever since it was first premiered. Legend has it that the Russian composer agreed to a tour in the United States in 1909 so that he could buy himself a car, a luxury reserved for a select few. He devised this new concerto for the New World and thus the most Russian of Russian works was premiered on a November evening in New York in 1909. It has since become a global hit. Prokofiev’s Symphony No. 5, one of the last great works of wartime, dates from 1944-45. Its epic power perfectly captures the sense of victory experienced by the Red Army when it defeated the Germans, from the initial solemn Andante through to the final swell of the brass section.

    Coproduction Théâtre des Champs-Elysées | Radio France
    France Musique broadcasts this concert on 11th of January 2024.