Continue without accepting

We respect your privacy

With your consent, we use cookies or similar technologies to store and access personal information such as your visit to this website. You can withdraw your consent or object to processin based on legitimate interest at any time by cliking on "Find out more" or in your privacy policy on this website.

Welcome to the Théâtre des Champs-Elysées website

The Théâtre des Champs-Elysées and its partners set cookies and use non-sensitive information from your device to improve our products and display personalized advertising and content. You can accept or refuse these different operations. To find out more about cookies, the data we use, the processing operations we carry out and the partners with whom we work, you can consult our cookies dedicated page.


    Les Siècles

    NN | direction
    Bertrand Chamayou | piano
    Grégoire Pont |  Illustration and live animation (Ma Mère l’Oye) 

    An early twentieth-century programme of rediscovered works and “hits” in close collaboration with Bertrand Chamayou.

    Photo de Bertrand Chamayou © Marco Borggreve
    Bertrand Chamayou © Marco Borggreve

    Massenet  Piano Concerto
    Chabrier  España, Joyeuse marche
    Ravel  Ma Mère l’Oye, Valses nobles et sentimentales 

    Ravel, Massenet and Chabrier played on period instruments is a billing which would have slotted comfortably into Gabriel Astruc’s early seasons at the Théâtre des Champs-Elysées. A century later, Ravel has earned his stripes as one of the most frequently performed composers in the world, but the important legacy of Chabrier and Massenet is more rarely championed by modern orchestras. Les Siècles are very familiar with them; as well as having a deep love of early twentieth-century French music, the avenue Montaigne orchestra in residence likes to rediscover and blow the dust off forgotten gems of repertoire. Massenet’s Concerto for Piano will sparkle under the fingers of Bertrand Chamayou, a regular collaborator with Les Siècles, and the Marche Joyeuse and España by Chabrier will chime beautifully with the dazzling colours of the orchestra’s period instruments. The better-known Valses nobles et sentimentales by Ravel will act as a prelude in the second half to Ma Mère l’Oye, a suite for orchestra with an unusual performer: the pencil of Grégoire Pont, who will illustrate Ravel’s masterpiece in real time.

    Coproduction Théâtre des Champs-Elysées | Les Siècles