Continue without accepting

We respect your privacy

With your consent, we use cookies or similar technologies to store and access personal information such as your visit to this website. You can withdraw your consent or object to processin based on legitimate interest at any time by cliking on "Find out more" or in your privacy policy on this website.

Welcome to the Théâtre des Champs-Elysées website

The Théâtre des Champs-Elysées and its partners set cookies and use non-sensitive information from your device to improve our products and display personalized advertising and content. You can accept or refuse these different operations. To find out more about cookies, the data we use, the processing operations we carry out and the partners with whom we work, you can consult our cookies dedicated page.


    Elisabeth Leonskaja | piano 

    Elisabeth Leonskaja takes us on a journey from Mozart and Chopin to Schumann.

    Photo de Elisabeth Leonskaja © Marco Borggreve
    Elisabeth Leonskaja © Marco Borggreve

    Mozart  Sonata No; 18 K. 576
    Schoenberg  Sechs kleine Stücke Op. 19
    Chopin  Nocturne Op. 55 No. 1, Nocturne Op. 27, Polonaise-Fantaisie Op. 61
    Berg  Sonata Pp. 1
    Schumann  Etudes symphoniques Op. 13 

    This great lady of the piano was the musical partner of Sviatoslav Richter, who recognised her as his alter ego by the intensity of her playing and her close familiarity with the piano repertoire which she conveys to her audiences to universal acclaim . After several evenings in the congenial company of the Streichquartett der Staaskapelle Berlin, she returns as a solo performer for a new journey to different climes. She will open with Mozart’s Sonata K. 576. We know from Mozart’s correspondance that he decided in the summer of 1789 to compose six easy new piano sonatas for Princess Friederike of Prussia. Sonata in D major K. 576 was the only one to see the light of day and it is anything but easy. On the contrary, it requires extraordinary dexterity and could possibly be Mozart’s most technically difficult sonata. This will be followed by two pieces by Schoenberg and Berg, punctuated by two Nocturnes and a Polonaise-Fantaisie by Chopin. These six miniatures for piano, which are only five minutes long, are contemporaneous with Berg’s Sonata No.1 and reveal a pared-back style in response to the grand instrumental form developed in the Symphonic Studies by Schumann in Opus 13, which are some of the most popular solo piano works, perfectly illustrating "studies in the form of variations”. 

    Production Piano****