Continue without accepting

We respect your privacy

With your consent, we use cookies or similar technologies to store and access personal information such as your visit to this website. You can withdraw your consent or object to processin based on legitimate interest at any time by cliking on "Find out more" or in your privacy policy on this website.

Welcome to the Théâtre des Champs-Elysées website

The Théâtre des Champs-Elysées and its partners set cookies and use non-sensitive information from your device to improve our products and display personalized advertising and content. You can accept or refuse these different operations. To find out more about cookies, the data we use, the processing operations we carry out and the partners with whom we work, you can consult our cookies dedicated page.


    Evgeny Kissin | piano
    Gidon Kremer | violin 
    Maxim Rysanov | alto
    Gautier Capuçon | cello 

    Pianist Evgeni Kissin celebrates Shostakovich in the company of Gidon Kremer, Maxim Rysanov, and Gautier Capuçon.

    Photo de Evgeny Kissin © Mascia Sergievskaia, Gidon Kremer © Angie Kremer
    Evgeny Kissin © Mascia Sergievskaia, Gidon Kremer © Angie Kremer
    Photo de Gautier Capucon © Felix_Broede, Maxim Rysonov © Lazlo Emmer
    Gautier Capucon © Felix_Broede, Maxim Rysonov © Lazlo Emmer

    Shostakovich Sonata for cello and piano Op. 40
    Sonata for violin and piano Op. 134
    Sonata for viola and piano Op. 147 

    To celebrate the fiftieth anniversary of the death of Shostakovich, three highly-reputed soloists are gathering around the piano of Evgeni Kissin. Although the Russian composer was a lifelong pianist, he wrote very little music for this instrument, and in contrast to his dense catalogue of symphonies and quartets, there are only a few opuses showcasing the art of two-instrument sonatas. They are seldom performed in concert, but all require players of the highest calibre. Opus 40 for cello and piano dates from 1934 and is the first major work composed by the young Shostakovich, who was 28 and still in thrall to the memory of Tchaikovsky and Rachmaninov. The next two pieces on tonight’s programme date from the composer’s twilight years. Opus 134 for violin and piano (1968) is dedicated to his friend the violinist David Oïstrakh and moves towards a very dark climax reflecting, as has been pointed out by numerous critics, the composer’s many hospital admissions at the time. Lastly, we have Opus 147 for viola and piano, which was written in July 1975, shortly before the composer’s death a month later. This is a melancholic, sombre work with many borrowings not only from his own earlier works, but also from Berg, Beethoven, and once again from Tchaikovsky and Rachmaninov. This is literally a masterpiece for the end of life, when all is stripped back to the bare essentials. 

    Production Productions Internationales Albert Sarfati