Continue without accepting

We respect your privacy

With your consent, we use cookies or similar technologies to store and access personal information such as your visit to this website. You can withdraw your consent or object to processin based on legitimate interest at any time by cliking on "Find out more" or in your privacy policy on this website.

Welcome to the Théâtre des Champs-Elysées website

The Théâtre des Champs-Elysées and its partners set cookies and use non-sensitive information from your device to improve our products and display personalized advertising and content. You can accept or refuse these different operations. To find out more about cookies, the data we use, the processing operations we carry out and the partners with whom we work, you can consult our cookies dedicated page.


    Orchestre de chambre de Paris

    Lars Vogt  direction and piano

    Lars Vogt plunges into the heart of the Romantic agony with Mendelssohn and Brahms

    Lars Vogt
    Lars Vogt © Giorgia Bertazzi

    Mozart Symphony No. 25 K. 183
    Mendelssohn Piano Concerto No. 1 Op. 25
    Brahms Symphony No. 4 Op. 98

    Approximate running time
    1st part: 50mn - Intermission: 20mn - 2nd part: 40mn

    This concert offers a programme rich in contrasts, played and conducted by Lars Vogt – an exceptional pianist and the musical director of the Sage Gateshead. The evening begins with the feverish Little G minor Symphony by Mozart, who penned it when he was only eighteen, by which time he had already written twenty-five symphonies. The quietly tragic atmosphere of this symphony will give way to the Romantic agonies of Mendelssohn and Brahms – two musicians who were also famous performers and orchestral conductors in their day. This programme gives Lars Vogt ample opportunity to showcase his commitment and irrepressible energy, which the music critic of The Guardian described in typically British style: « Vogt is such a communicative, hyperactive performer that when his hands were busy at the keyboard he appeared to continue conducting with his knees.»

    Production Orchestre de chambre de Paris