Vadim Repin | violin
Andreï Korobeinikov | piano 

Russian violinist Vadim Repin inaugurates this great violin weekend with Hindemith, Prokofiev, Ravel and Grieg.

Vadim Repin
Vadim Repin © Alexander Ivanov
Andreï Korobeinikov
Andreï Korobeinikov © Irene Zandel


Great Violin Week-end  I
Hindemith Sonata for violin and piano No.1 Op. 11
Prokofiev Sonata for violin and piano No. 1 op. 80
Ravel Sonata posthume for violin and piano
Grieg Sonata for violin and piano No. 3 op. 45 

Throughout the weekend, take part in family activities with luthiers and bow makers: creation and restoration. Young and old, come and discover the magical world of the violin ...

To read

“Simplicity is the highest goal, achievable when you have overcome all difficulties.” This observation by Chopin could define Vadim Repin's playing, as interiority never lacks emotion. For this first concert, he chose four pieces that offer various aspects of his palette. Sonata No. 1 of Hindemith's Opus 11 dates from years of war. Organised in two movements, it combines the melodic invention of the first movement (the fanfare effects) with the more solemn character of the second movement. The same duality applies to Prokofiev's, where instrumental virtuosity is combined with a feeling of restrained passion. In the second half of the evening, return to the classical form of the sonata in three movements, first of all with Ravel, who hasn't forgotten the American jazz that George Gershwin introduced him to in the nightclubs during his time in America (the second movement rightly entitled Blues) and Grieg's Nordic landscapes where dramatic intensity and gentle melancholy are intimately intertwined.

PRODUCTION Productions Internationales Albert Sarfati

You may also like

Prokofiev, Britten, Shostakovich

Two exceptional chamber musicians for a programme of sonatas by Prokofiev, Britten and Shostakovich.

Franck, Tchaikovsky, Ravel

The award-winning young Eva Zaravo is the guest of the fourth concert of this great violin weekend.

Prokofiev, Tchaikovsky, Stravinsky

Sergey Dogadin plunges us into the depths of the Russian soul with Tchaikovsky, Prokofiev and Stravinsky.

Continue without accepting

We respect your privacy

With your consent, we use cookies or similar technologies to store and access personal information such as your visit to this website. You can withdraw your consent or object to processin based on legitimate interest at any time by cliking on "Find out more" or in your privacy policy on this website.

Welcome to the Théâtre des Champs-Elysées website

The Théâtre des Champs-Elysées and its partners set cookies and use non-sensitive information from your device to improve our products and display personalized advertising and content. You can accept or refuse these different operations. To find out more about cookies, the data we use, the processing operations we carry out and the partners with whom we work, you can consult our cookies dedicated page.