Continue without accepting

We respect your privacy

With your consent, we use cookies or similar technologies to store and access personal information such as your visit to this website. You can withdraw your consent or object to processin based on legitimate interest at any time by cliking on "Find out more" or in your privacy policy on this website.

Welcome to the Théâtre des Champs-Elysées website

The Théâtre des Champs-Elysées and its partners set cookies and use non-sensitive information from your device to improve our products and display personalized advertising and content. You can accept or refuse these different operations. To find out more about cookies, the data we use, the processing operations we carry out and the partners with whom we work, you can consult our cookies dedicated page.


    Orchestre de chambre de Paris

    Thomas Dausgaard | direction
    Haochen Zhang | piano 

    The Three Ages of Strauss explored by conductor Thomas Dausgaard and pianist Haochen Zhang.

    Thomas Dausgaard
    Thomas Dausgaard - DR
    Haochen Zhang
    Haochen Zhang

    Strauss Metamorphosen, Burleske, The Bourgeois gentilhomme 

    Triumphant debut at the New York Philharmonic, invitations to perform all over the world, and already a great success with the Seattle Symphony of which he has just become Music Director... Everything is going well for Danish conductor Thomas Dausgaard. Here he addresses three ages of Richard Strauss, from the Bourgeois Gentleman of 1917 – first envisaged as part of Ariadne auf Naxos – to the glowing Metamorphosen that Strauss, in his eighties, wrote in the ruins of defeated Germany in 1945. As for the Burleske in D minor, it would have discouraged its dedicatee Hans von Bülow: “There's a different hand position in every bar!” he is reported to have said... before giving up the interpretation. A challenge that the young Chinese piano prodigy Haochen Zhang, a regular guest on the greatest stages of Asia, Europe and the United States, would have to rise to with flying colours.

    PRODUCTION Orchestre de chambre de Paris

    You may also like


    Richard Strauss

    A sublime "scenic symphonic poem", Salome illustrates the luxuriance of its subject matter, embellished here by Krzysztof Warlikowski's vision and a high-flying cast.