Continue without accepting

We respect your privacy

With your consent, we use cookies or similar technologies to store and access personal information such as your visit to this website. You can withdraw your consent or object to processin based on legitimate interest at any time by cliking on "Find out more" or in your privacy policy on this website.

Welcome to the Théâtre des Champs-Elysées website

The Théâtre des Champs-Elysées and its partners set cookies and use non-sensitive information from your device to improve our products and display personalized advertising and content. You can accept or refuse these different operations. To find out more about cookies, the data we use, the processing operations we carry out and the partners with whom we work, you can consult our cookies dedicated page.


    Sunwook Kim | piano
    Clara-Jumi Kang | violin

    Sunwook Kim and Clara-Jumi Kang play Respighi, Chausson, and César Franck’s big hit.

    Clara Jumi Kang, Sunwook-Kim
    Clara Jumi Kang, Sunwook-Kim © Marco Borggreve

    Beethoven  Sonata for violin and piano Op. 12 no. 1
    Respighi  Sonata for violin and piano
    Chausson  Poème Op. 25
    Franck  Sonata for violin and piano in A major

    Following on from Schubert’s trios with their close friend Edgar Moreau last month, Sunwook Kim and Clara-Jumi Kang are back together for a programme blending discoveries and a big hit. The performance begins with the first ten sonatas for piano and violin composed by Beethoven over which the spirit of Mozart still hovers. We then have two rarities: Respighi’s sonata, with its strange harmonic almost lunar world, is followed by a chamber version of Poème opus 25 by Chausson. Initially entitled Le Chant de l’amour triomphant (as a reference to Turgeniev), then Poème symphonique and eventually Poème, this piece was originally a concerto for violin and orchestra. This version for piano and violin has lost none of the original sparkle or Chausson’s unusual trademark poetry. The evening will be rounded off with a key piece from the piano and violin repertoire, the grandiose and intriguing sonata by César Franck in which the cyclical theme so dear to the composer creates a unified work while prompting a very highly-developed dialogue between the two instruments.

    Coréalisation Piano**** | Théâtre des Champs-Elysées