Continue without accepting

We respect your privacy

With your consent, we use cookies or similar technologies to store and access personal information such as your visit to this website. You can withdraw your consent or object to processin based on legitimate interest at any time by cliking on "Find out more" or in your privacy policy on this website.

Welcome to the Théâtre des Champs-Elysées website

The Théâtre des Champs-Elysées and its partners set cookies and use non-sensitive information from your device to improve our products and display personalized advertising and content. You can accept or refuse these different operations. To find out more about cookies, the data we use, the processing operations we carry out and the partners with whom we work, you can consult our cookies dedicated page.


    Orchestre de chambre de Paris

    Gergely Madaras | direction
    Benjamin Grosvenor | piano 

    Haydn, Mendelssohn, and Schubert display the impetuosity of youth.

    Photo de Benjamin Grosvenor © Andrej Grilc
    Benjamin Grosvenor © Andrej Grilc
    Photo de Gergely Madaras - Droits réservés
    Gergely Madaras - Droits réservés

    Haydn  Symphony No. 19 Hob. I:19
    Mendelssohn  Concerto for piano No. 1 op. 25
    Schubert  Symphony No. 4 D. 417 « Tragic » 

    The youthful vitality of the three composers in this programme permeates their works, written at the ages of thirty (Haydn), twenty-two (Mendelssohn) and nineteen (Schubert) respectively. In his Symphony No. 19, composed just after entering the service of Prince Esterházy, Haydn lays the foundations of Viennese classicism. Schubert and Mendelssohn bring this inheritance to fruition while affirming their romantic sensibilities. Schubert gives his Symphony No. 4 a colour hitherto unprecedented in orchestral music, and its more sombre tone justifies the subtitle “Tragic” added by the composer himself. Mendelssohn’s Piano Concerto No. 1 blends intimate lyricism with a gossamer-light vivacity which enthralled the London audience in 1832: “Never in my life have I enjoyed such success. The audience was drunk with enthusiasm,” confided the author of this brilliant score. 

    Production Orchestre de chambre de Paris