Continue without accepting

We respect your privacy

With your consent, we use cookies or similar technologies to store and access personal information such as your visit to this website. You can withdraw your consent or object to processin based on legitimate interest at any time by cliking on "Find out more" or in your privacy policy on this website.

Welcome to the Théâtre des Champs-Elysées website

The Théâtre des Champs-Elysées and its partners set cookies and use non-sensitive information from your device to improve our products and display personalized advertising and content. You can accept or refuse these different operations. To find out more about cookies, the data we use, the processing operations we carry out and the partners with whom we work, you can consult our cookies dedicated page.


    Orchestre de chambre de Paris

    Douglas Boyd  direction
    Stéphanie d’Oustrac  mezzo-soprano 

    Berlioz celebrated with a new composition by Arthur Lavandier with mezzo-soprano Stéphanie d’Oustrac

    Douglas Boyd, Stéphanie D'Oustrac
    Douglas Boyd © Jean-Baptiste Millot / Stéphanie D'Oustrac © Perla Maarek

    Haydn Symphony No. 85 Hob.I:85 "The Queen " 
    Poèmes Spirit on a text by Frédéric Boyer
    Mendelssohn A Midsummer Night's Dream, Overture 
    Berlioz Les Nuits d’été Op. 7

    Approximate running time
    1st part: 40mn - Intermission: 20mn - 2nd part: 45mn

    This concert celebrating Berlioz’s birthday invites us to bask in two summers. Les Nuits d’été, Berlioz’s setting of Théophile Gautier’s poems, was composed in 1841 and tells of strawberries, blackbirds and undying promises, before giving way to the cruelties of absence and mourning symbolised by the dazzling Le Spectre de la rose. Arthur Lavandier and Frédéric Boyer offer us their own sensitive and contemporary response to their predecessors. Lavandier, a highly accomplished composer in his thirties, has already penned a variation on Berlioz’s Symphonie fantastique. Boyer, a novelist, poet, and translator of Virgil and Shakespeare, recently published Là où le cœur attend [Where the Heart Waits], an essay on loss and hope. Providing yet more warmth and light, one of the finest French voices of the moment, the radiant Stéphanie d’Oustrac, performs these two summer cycles.

    Production Orchestre de chambre de Paris