Berliner Philharmoniker Konzertmeister II

Second evening with the Konzertmeister of the Berlin Philharmonic with Mozart and Schumann.

Guy Braunstein, Amihai Grosz
Guy Braunstein © Boaz Arad, Amihai Grosz © Edith Held
Christoph Streuli, Ulrich Knörzer
Christoph Streuli, Ulrich Knörzer - DR
Edgar Moreau, Sunwook Kim
Edgar Moreau © Jackie Azoulay, Sunwook Kim © Marco Borggreve


Guy Braunstein | violin
Christoph Streuli | violin
Ulrich Knörzer | viola
Amihai Grosz | viola
Sunwook Kim| piano 
Edgar Moreau
| cello


Berliner Philharmoniker Konzertmeister II
Mozart Quartet for piano and strings No. 1 K. 478
Quartet for piano and strings No. 2 K. 493
Schumann Quintet for piano and strings Op. 43 

To read

After yesterday's quintets for strings and with clarinet, tonight it's the turn of Mozart's two quartets for piano and strings. Although Mozart composed only two opuses for this quartet, K 478 and 493 remain the pinnacles of the genre, the Romantic era having cultivated the trio or quintet form with the piano to a greater extent. From the outset Mozart explored all the possibilities of the very special genre of the piano quartet, still in a chamber form but already with the spirit of the concerto.

Wagner became enthusiastic about Schumann's Piano and String Quintet and opened up to its author by writing: "Your Quintet, my very dear Schumann, pleased me greatly. I can see what you are aiming at, and I assure you that I am aiming at much the same sort of thing: it is our only salvation: beauty!'' A journey between fantasy and discipline, between a scherzo molto vivace and a funeral march before leaving for a final allegro. Grandiose and the first romantic masterpiece of the genre, this quintet was later performed by Brahms, Dvořák and César Franck.

COREALISATION Piano**** / Théâtre des Champs-Elysées

You may also like

Mozart, Berg, Brahms

The keyboard doyenne for an evening with Mozart and Brahms peppered with Viennese modernity.


Three of Mozart's most beautiful quintets by the Konzertmeister of the Berlin Philharmonic.

Chopin, Rachmaninov

The traditional and much awaited Parisian recital of the pianistic oddball Grigory Sokolov.

Continue without accepting

We respect your privacy

With your consent, we use cookies or similar technologies to store and access personal information such as your visit to this website. You can withdraw your consent or object to processin based on legitimate interest at any time by cliking on "Find out more" or in your privacy policy on this website.

Welcome to the Théâtre des Champs-Elysées website

The Théâtre des Champs-Elysées and its partners set cookies and use non-sensitive information from your device to improve our products and display personalized advertising and content. You can accept or refuse these different operations. To find out more about cookies, the data we use, the processing operations we carry out and the partners with whom we work, you can consult our cookies dedicated page.