Continue without accepting

We respect your privacy

With your consent, we use cookies or similar technologies to store and access personal information such as your visit to this website. You can withdraw your consent or object to processin based on legitimate interest at any time by cliking on "Find out more" or in your privacy policy on this website.

Welcome to the Théâtre des Champs-Elysées website

The Théâtre des Champs-Elysées and its partners set cookies and use non-sensitive information from your device to improve our products and display personalized advertising and content. You can accept or refuse these different operations. To find out more about cookies, the data we use, the processing operations we carry out and the partners with whom we work, you can consult our cookies dedicated page.


    Wiener Philharmoniker

    Andris Nelsons | direction 

    Andris Nelsons combines Viennese tradition with Russian modernity.

    Andris Nelsons
    Andris Nelsons © Marco Borggreve

    Gubaidulina Märchen-poem
    Shostakovitch Symphony No. 9 op. 70
    Dvořák Symphony No. 6 op. 60 

    The last symphonic concert of the season where the musical tradition of the Vienna Philharmonic meets the undeniable wave of modernity provided by the conductor Andris Nelsons.  This was demonstrated during the complete Beethoven symphonies presented on tour and here recently.  Here they are once again reunited for a most interesting and unprecedented programme for the Viennese in Paris.  In the first part, the conductor chose to bring together two great figures in the history of modern Russian music with a brief but very pretty fairy tale by Sofia Gubaidulina dating from 1971 and Shostakovich's Symphony No. 9, one of the musician's shortest.  It was supposed to be a celebration of the Russian forces in the liberation of Europe in the summer of 1945, but in fact it played an important part in the banishment of its composer by Stalin.  In the second part, Dvořák's Sixth Symphony, desired and intended by the great conductor Hans Richter precisely for the Wiener forces but finally premiered in Prague in 1881.  A fitting return to the roots.  The physical commitment of the Latvian master, his sense of detail and transparency, his ability to bring out a volume of sound from each desk like few others, augur a magnificent conclusion to the symphonic season.

    PRODUCTION Théâtre des Champs-Elysées

    You may also like

    Orchestre de chambre de Paris

    François-Frédéric Guy

    The pianist François-Frédéric Guy continues his exploration of musical filiations.

    Elena Bashkirova

    Schumann, Beethoven / Liszt

    The piano of Elena Bashkirova and the art of poetic classicism.

    David Fray


    David Fray is back with Schubert and the infinite poetry of the Impromptus.