City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra

Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla | direction
Kirill Gerstein | piano

The now traditional visit to Paris by the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra under the formidable baton of Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla.

Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla
Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla © Frans Jansen
Kirill Gerstein
Kirill Gerstein © Marco Borggreve


Weinberg  Sinfonietta No. 1
Schumann  Piano Concerto Op. 54
Symphony No. 1 Op. 38 « The Spring »


Last season, Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla took us on a journey with Janáček (The Cunning Little Vixen) and iconic works by Tchaikovsky and Stravinsky. This season, she is back with a programme almost entirely devoted to Schumann with his only piano concerto and his First Symphony. In 1853, towards the end of his life, Schumann wrote this violin concerto in just eleven days. Following a suicide attempt a few weeks later, he was committed to an asylum, where he spent the final three years of his life. The work opens with a first movement adopting the form of an energetic sonata, contrasting with a lyrical second movement leading seamlessly into a third and final movement with a powerful polonaise rhythm punctuated with technical challenges for the performer. Twelve years earlier, in 1841, a year after his marriage to Clara Wieck and the birth of his first daughter, Schumann composed his First Symphony in a quite different mood. Like so many of his contemporaries living in the huge shadow cast by Beethoven, the young musician was intimidated by the symphony genre. Although this First Symphony is often considered to be an orchestral debut in the Schumann corpus, it nevertheless demonstrates a certain richness and a keen mastery.

Production Théâtre des Champs-Elysées

You may also like

Orchestre de chambre de Paris

Maxim Emelyanychev, Sheku Kanneh-Mason

This evening will be dedicated to Lars Vogt, Music Director of Orchestre de chambre de Paris, who passed away on 5 September after a long and courageous battle with illness.

Elisabeth Leonskaja

Schumann, Shostakovitch

Elisabeth Leonskaja is in fine company for Schumann and Shostakovich quintets.

Continue without accepting

We respect your privacy

With your consent, we use cookies or similar technologies to store and access personal information such as your visit to this website. You can withdraw your consent or object to processin based on legitimate interest at any time by cliking on "Find out more" or in your privacy policy on this website.

Welcome to the Théâtre des Champs-Elysées website

The Théâtre des Champs-Elysées and its partners set cookies and use non-sensitive information from your device to improve our products and display personalized advertising and content. You can accept or refuse these different operations. To find out more about cookies, the data we use, the processing operations we carry out and the partners with whom we work, you can consult our cookies dedicated page.