Continue without accepting

We respect your privacy

With your consent, we use cookies or similar technologies to store and access personal information such as your visit to this website. You can withdraw your consent or object to processin based on legitimate interest at any time by cliking on "Find out more" or in your privacy policy on this website.

Welcome to the Théâtre des Champs-Elysées website

The Théâtre des Champs-Elysées and its partners set cookies and use non-sensitive information from your device to improve our products and display personalized advertising and content. You can accept or refuse these different operations. To find out more about cookies, the data we use, the processing operations we carry out and the partners with whom we work, you can consult our cookies dedicated page.


    Rotterdams Philharmonisch Orkest

    Lahav Shani | direction
    Martha Argerich | piano 

    Two major works by Bartók and Dvořák on the theme of exile, featuring the extraordinary talent of Martha Argerich.

    Photo de Martha Argerich © Caroline Doutre
    Martha Argerich © Caroline Doutre
    Photo de Lahav Shani © Marco Borggreve
    Lahav Shani © Marco Borggreve

    Bartók  Concerto for piano No. 3
    Dvořák  Symphony No. 9 « From the New World » 

    The Rotterdam Philharmonic Orchestra has been a regular fixture at the Théâtre for over a decade. We first discovered it with Yannick Nézet-Séguin, the musical director at the time, and then with his successor Lahav Shani. The orchestra is paying a return visit with Lahav Shani for a memorable evening, accompanied by the hugely talented Martha Argerich, a living piano legend. She will perform Bartók’s third and last piano concerto, written in in 1945 when he was in exile in the United States. This sombre work, penned in the last months of his life (the last 14 bars out of a total of 1,200 were completed by one of his students in line with his instructions) requires a poetry and a sense of interiority which Martha Argerich has captured magnificently both in concert and on recordings. It has been catalogued by some as “posthumous”, yet it is nevertheless, by virtue of its poetic nature, a major milestone in the twentieth-century concert repertoire. The programme is supplemented by another great work of exile, Dvořák’s New World Symphony, whose melodious and contrasting themes and very varied orchestration are its strength and the key to its popularity.

    Production Théâtre des Champs-Elysées